…And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.


in the ESV translation, Gen:1:2c reads:  “And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.”  The Message puts it this way: “God’s Spirit brooded like a bird above the watery abyss.”

This section of this verse reminds me of God’s connection with his creation.  What a different world we would have if the beginning of Genesis read, “In the beginning, God yawned and said, ‘I suppose I should create something…let there be the world and everything in it.’  And then God, utterly bored with his creation, took a nap.”

Thankfully God is not a distant, uninterested creator.  His Spirit hovered over the face of the waters.  It almost sounds to me like God, even though he knew what he was creating, could hardly wait to actually see his creation!

I used to play with Lego a lot when I was a kid (I still like to play with it when I have the chance!).  When I got a new Lego set, I could look at the picture on the box, and I’d already know what it was that I was about to build.  But the real excitement came in the building and completing of the project.  I think that God enjoyed the anticipation of his creation…but even more-so, he enjoyed the act of creating…and enjoys sustaining his creation.

God takes great delight when his creation attempts (however imperfectly) to worship him.  All our righteous deeds, in comparison to God’s greatness, may appear to be “polluted garments” as Isaiah puts it in Is.64:6 (ESV), but that doesn’t mean that God doesn’t want us to try!  My own children cannot live up to what I desire of them, but every small step in the right direction that my children take brings joy to my heart!

Posted on December 4, 2008, in Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

